The three principal grapes authorized for the production of Champagne are Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and the black grape Meunier (formerly Pinot Meunier—“miller’s” Pinot—named for the dusty appearance of its leaves). In 2018, Pinot Noir accounted for 38% of total plantings, Chardonnay accounted for 31%, and Meunier accounted for 31%. Larger houses will often blend Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, or all three varieties, in order to create a consistent non-vintage house style. Each grape contributes a different element: Chardonnay provides elegance and longevity, Pinot Noir supports the wine’s structure, richness and body, and Meunier lends a youthful fruitiness and approachability. 

The 3 most famous regions of production in Champagne are:


-Montagne de Reims (pictured bellow)

Known for it's Pinot Noir is also produces high quality Chardonnay


-Valle de la Marne

Mostly grows Menier


-Cote des Blancs

Famous for growing outstanding Chardonnay 

.pf-media-fixed-height .splide__slide img, [data-pf-type="MediaItem"] img { object-fit: cover !important; }